An aggressive driving ticket is a serious criminal traffic violation and is defined in section 28-695 of the Arizona Revised Statutes as:
A person commits aggressive driving (class 1 misdemeanor) if, while speeding, the person commits at least two of the following violations:
- Failure to obey traffic control devices
- Overtaking and passing another vehicle on the right by driving off the pavement or main traveled portion of the roadway
- Unsafe lane change
- Following a vehicle too closely
- Failure to yield the right-of-way
The penalties upon conviction of an aggressive driving ticket (first offense) can include, up to 6 months in jail, $2,500.00 fine (with 84% surcharge), Traffic Survival School (TSS), and a possible 30-day suspension of driver's license. In addition, this is 8 points against your driver's license and can also cause a substantial increase in your insurance rates. If a person has a prior history of aggressive driving within a 24 month period, the penalty can include possible revocation of driving privileges for 1 year, in addition to the penalties associated with a first-time offense.
Given the possibility for jail time, steep fines, points against your license, possible increase in insurance rates, and loss of driving privileges, it is advantageous to seek the advice and representation of an experienced criminal defense lawyer who can launch an aggressive defense on your behalf. If you or a loved one has been charged with reckless driving, aggressive driving, or any other criminal traffic violation, contact the Firm for a free consultation regarding your rights and legal options.
The Firm represents individuals in the East Valley (Gilbert, Mesa, Chandler, Scottsdale, Apache Junction, Fountain Hills, Paradise Valley, Casa Grande, San Tan Valley and Queen Creek), Phoenix and surrounding cities, and throughout the State of Arizona.