Picture of Attorney
Published on:

Can you be Charged with Vehicular Homicide in Arizona?

If you are involved in a DUI collision which results in a fatality of another individual, there are a few different statutes that you may be charged under, depending on the severity and nature of the incident. Depending on how you are charged, you could be facing anywhere between 1 and 22 years in prison for a vehicular homicide related offense.

Under Arizona law, DUI fatalities can be charged as negligent homicide, which can result in a range of up to 8 years in prison. This type of fatality could also result in manslaughter charges, which are punishable by 7 to 21 years in prison. Finally, under extreme circumstances, a person could be charged with second degree murder, resulting in anywhere between 10-22 years in prison, if convicted.

Arizona and North Dakota are the only two states that do not have a specific vehicular homicide charge which can be applied to situations regarding DUI drivers and fatalities. If you are involved in a vehicular manslaughter-type incident, it is advisable to seek advice from an experience Mesa DUI lawyer as these are very serious allegations with exposure to significant prison time, if convicted.

Contact the Firm to arrange a free consultation regarding any fatality related DUI case.

**This blog should be used for informational purposes only. It does not create an attorney-client relationship with any reader and should not be construed as legal advice. If you need legal advice, please contact the Firm to schedule a consultation regarding your case.

Contact Information