Chandler DUI Lawyer
DUI Charges in Chandler, AZ
In Arizona, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. If your BAC (blood alcohol content) is at or above 0.08% then you are legally intoxicated. If you are under the age of 21, Arizona has a zero-tolerance policy meaning that if your BAC is found to be above 0.00% then you could be arrested for Underage DUI. If you are a commercial driver the BAC limit is 0.04%. Additionally, if you are arrested and convicted of DUI as a commercial driver then you may face challenges in finding employment in this field in the future.
If you are stopped by a police officer, you may be asked to perform some field sobriety tests such as the walk and turn test and the one leg stand. Additionally, you may be asked to perform a chemical test such as a breath or blood test. It is your constitutional right to refuse to perform these tests, however in Arizona there is an implied consent law, meaning that if you are driving in Arizona then consent to a chemical test is implied. If you refuse to take the chemical test, then for your first refusal you will automatically lose your license for one year. An experienced criminal defense attorney can advise you regarding your rights during an arrest and whether you should refuse certain or all tests an officer is asking you to participate in.
Charged With DUI in Chandler, AZ? This Firm can Help!
The penalties upon conviction of DUI range in severity depending on a number of factors, including your BAC level, whether you have any prior DUI convictions, whether you had a valid license at the time of the arrest, or if you were involved in a car accident or had minor children in the car, among other possible factors. However, at a minimum, you can expect to pay fines, complete alcohol screening and classes, possibly serve jail time, possibly lose your license for a period of time, and potentially be assigned mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device in each of your vehicles. The minimum jail time on a first-time DUI conviction is 24 hours, the minimum jail for on a second-time DUI conviction is 30 days and there is no statutory minimum for a third and subsequent offense.
The penalties upon conviction of a DUI charge can be extremely challenging to face and it is advisable to consult with an experienced DUI attorney regarding your legal options and possible defenses that may be available in your case before making any decisions that could result in unintended consequences. An experienced and Board Certified DUI Lawyer from the Law Offices of Trent R. Buckallew, PC will be able to help you navigate through our often-complicated criminal justice system and help you pursue the most favorable outcome possible in your case.
Contact the Firm today to arrange a free evaluation of your case, regarding any pending DUI charges in Chandler or throughout the State of Arizona.