Gilbert DUI Lawyer
Aggressive DUI Defense in Gilbert, AZ
There are many laws that govern traffic throughout the United States and most of these laws are established in order to maintain the safety of the drivers on the road. One of these laws in Arizona defines the legal BAC (blood alcohol content) limit in which a person is permitted to drive. It is illegal to drink and drive in the state of Arizona, and the legal BAC limit is 0.08%. If your BAC is found to be at or above this level within two hours of driving or being in actual physical control of the vehicle, then you could be arrested on charges of DUI. If you are under the age of 21, you can be charged with Underage Drinking if any trace of alcohol is found in your system. If you are a commercial driver, the legal BAC limit in the State of Arizona is 0.04%.
If you are stopped by a police officer in the Town of Gilbert, he/she may ask you to perform some field sobriety tests. Additionally he/she may ask you to submit to a chemical test such as a breath or blood test. According to implied consent laws in the state of Arizona, a driver gives consent to a test of blood, breath or urine in order to determine BAC or drug content if the person is arrested for DUI. You have the right to refuse this test, however this will result in an automatic license suspension of one year.
Why Do I Need a DUI Lawyer? An Aggressive and Experienced DUI Attorney will:
- Fight to reduce or eliminate jail time
- Fight to reduce or eliminate prison time
- Fight to limit exposure to heavy fines and court costs
- Defend against loss of driving privileges
- Defend against ignition interlock requirements
- Fight to protect your record against a criminal conviction
- Fight to protect you against increased insurance premiums
- Fight to protect against loss of job and/or professional license
- Fight to limit community work service hours
- Fight to limit term of probation
If you have been charged with a first-time DUI in Gilbert, you could be facing financial penalties of approximately $1,500 (plus possible additional fees for alcohol screening and classes, jail fees, probation fees and interlock fees), jail time of 24 hours to 10 days, and other penalties. For your second and subsequent conviction for DUI, the penalties increase. There are many other factors that may be considered in a DUI case such as if there was a minor under the age of 15 in the vehicle with you at the time of your arrest or if you were driving on a suspended/revoked driver's license. If you are facing DUI charges, it is important to seek the advice of legal counsel before making any decisions in your case, to ensure you understand your legal options and the long-term consequences of a conviction.
For additional information on the various types of DUI cases the Firm handles, visit our blog here. The Firm handles any alcohol or drug related DUI in Gilbert, including 1st Time DUI, Extreme DUI, Super Extreme DUI, Aggravated DUI, DUI with prior DUI convictions, Underage DUI, misdemeanor DUI cases, felony DUI cases, Aggravated DUI involving injury or death and drug related DUI cases. The Firm represents individuals in Gilbert, East Valley, West Valley, Phoenix and throughout the State of Arizona. Contact the Firm today for a free case evaluation regarding your pending DUI case.
Contact an experienced Gilbert DUI Lawyer to arrange your free consultation for any pending DUI charges and learn how we can fight your DUI case.