Work with a Board Certified Criminal Defense Attorney
For nearly twenty years, Attorney Trent R. Buckallew has been standing up for the rights of the accused throughout the State of Arizona. As a member of the National Association or Criminal Defense Lawyers and the National College of DUI Defense, you can be confident that Mr. Buckallew is well versed in the ever-changing and complex practice of criminal law. Mr. Buckallew is also one of a very small percentage of criminal defense attorney’s in the State of Arizona who have achieved Board Certification by the State Bar of AZ in Criminal Law. There are rigorous requirements, including extensive experience in criminal law, number of years practicing criminal law, attorney and judge peer reviews, integrity and a high degree of competence in the specialty field, among other benchmarks, which must be met before the Board will certify an attorney in his/her area of specialty. He has the experience and background necessary to prepare an aggressive defense on your behalf as well as fight tirelessly for your rights. If you have been accused of any type of DUI, talk to a Tempe DUI attorney from the Firm to discuss your legal options before making any decisions in your case.
What is Implied Consent?
According to Arizona state law, anyone who drives in the state of Arizona gives their implied consent to alcohol testing. This could be testing of the driver's blood, breath, or urine in order to ascertain the level of alcohol in their blood stream while either driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle. Law enforcement has to have reasonable grounds to believe the driver is under the influence of alcohol before they pull the driver over and administer the tests. They can also pull an individual over if they believe that individual is under the age of twenty-one and has been drinking. Because of the implied consent law, if the driver refuses to be tested for alcohol levels, his/her license will be immediately suspended for twelve months (or two years for a second or subsequent refusal within a period of eighty-four months). The officer will confiscate the driver’s license, serve an order of suspension on the driver which is effective fifteen days after the date it was served, and issue the driver a temporary driving permit that is valid for 15-days. Unless the driver requests a hearing within this 15-day period, the license suspension will take effect 15 days after the suspension order was served. It is advisable to discuss your options with an experienced attorney before making any decisions in your case.
How Can a DUI Defense Attorney Help you?
Our legal team has significant experience in dealing with all types of DUI cases including, DUI with injury, DUI & drugs
, aggravated DUI
, extreme DUI, super extreme DUI
, underage DUI
and DUI Homicide. We understand the severe penalties that can result from a DUI conviction and will launch an aggressive defense on your behalf to ensure your case is resolved under the most favorable terms possible. Mr. Buckallew has handled DUI cases in most courts throughout the Valley with a wide range of successful outcomes, including trial acquittals, dismissals, charge reductions to non-DUI offenses and will launch an aggressive defense to ensure that he achieves the best outcome possible in your case. Mr. Buckallew personally handles each case from start to finish to ensure each client receives the expertise and personalized attention it deserves.