A person can be charged with reckless driving when they operate a motor vehicle in reckless disregard for the safety of other drivers, pedestrians, or property around them. Common indicators of reckless driving include swerving into other lanes, running traffic lights or stop signs, cutting off other drivers and traveling at excessive rates of speed. Penalties for this type of criminal traffic violation can include the suspension of driving privileges for up to ninety days, jail time, and fines. If you have been charged with reckless driving, speak with a Phoenix criminal traffic attorney to discuss your legal options.Serving Phoenix, Scottsdale, Tempe & the Entire Valley
Reckless driving is a Class 2 misdemeanor in Arizona, and a (first offense) conviction can result in up to 4 months in jail, a $750.00 fine (plus 84% surcharge), and suspension of driving privileges for up to 90 days. More significantly, however, is the loss of 8 points against your driver's license and the possibility of a significant increase in insurance rates. If there is a prior reckless driving conviction within twenty-four months, the driver can be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor, resulting in harsher penalties, including up to 6 months jail (20 day minimum), up to a maximum fine of $2,500.00 (plus 84% surcharge) and possible revocation of driving privileges. License suspension or revocation can result in significant hardship for individuals who rely on driving to maintain employment or to fulfill family obligations.Aggressive Driving Charges - Know the Facts
Aggressive driving charges are also taken very seriously in the State of Arizona and as such, can result in significant consequences. An aggressive driving violation is defined in section 28-695 of the Arizona Revised Statutes as:
A person commits aggressive driving (Class 1 misdemeanor) if, while speeding, the person commits at least two of the following violations:
- Failure to obey traffic control devices
- Overtaking and passing another vehicle on the right by driving off the pavement or main traveled portion of the roadway
- Unsafe lane change
- Following a vehicle too closely
- Failure to yield the right-of-way
The penalties upon conviction of an aggressive driving ticket (first offense) can include, up to 6 months in jail, $2,500.00 fine (with 84% surcharge), Traffic Survival School (TSS), and a possible 30-day suspension of driver's license. In addition, this is 8 points against your driver's license and can also cause a substantial increase in your insurance rates. If a person has a prior history of aggressive driving within a 24 month period, the penalty can include possible revocation of driving privileges for 1 year, in addition to the penalties associated with a first-time offense.Contact Our Phoenix, Arizona Firm Today
Attorney Trent Buckallew has handled all types of criminal traffic cases and understands the impact of facing jail time and losing the privilege to drive. It is important to seek out experienced legal counsel when facing these types of charges as the consequences can cause significant hardship following a conviction and the possibility of suspension/revocation of ones driving privileges. Reckless driving and aggressive driving are serious offenses, and if charged you should seek out competent legal representation.
Contact a Phoenix criminal traffic lawyer if you have been charged with reckless or aggressive driving in Arizona. Schedule a free case evaluation today.