Picture of Attorney

Articles Tagged with DUI Defense

Published on:

https://www.crim-law.info/blog/wp-content/uploads/2018/04/Phoenix-Municipal-Court-1000-ffccccccWhite-3333-0.20.3-1.png

According to recent media reports, this year's DUI task force arrests exceeded last year's numbers both in the number of people arrested as well as in the average blood-alcohol levels (BAC) of those arrested, compared to previous years. There were 559 people arrested for DUIs over the Memorial Day weekend, up from 547 in 2012 and the average BAC level was .153 – almost twice the legal limit of .08. Of the 559 DUI arrests, 148 of those were charged with "Extreme DUI", meaning their BAC was believed to be at 0.15 or greater. The biggest difference between a regular (non-extreme) 1st Time DUI is the increased jail time (1 day for a Non-Extreme DUI or 30 days for an Extreme DUI) as well as the increased financial penalties for an Extreme DUI.

Other DUI arrests over the Memorial Day weekend included 103 drug-related DUI's, which exceeds the annual totals over the past five years. You can be charged with DUI-Drugs if any sign of a prohibited substance is detected by forensic testing in the crime lab. It is important to note that the crime lab may detect the substance even if the drugs were ingested over a week earlier. Because Arizona permits prosecution upon a finding of the metabolite of a prohibited substance, and because metabolites will remain in the system long after the active ingredient has dissipated, the time frame for acquiring necessary evidence for prosecution can be quite lengthy.

The number of Aggravated DUI arrests this Memorial Day weekend totaled 60 which was a slight decrease over the past few years. A person can be charged with Aggravated DUI under various circumstances, such as, your driver's license was suspended or revoked at the time of the DUI arrest, you had a minor child under the age of 15 in the car at the time of the DUI arrest, or this is your third DUI in a 7 year period. The minimum incarceration time if convicted of an Aggravated DUI is four months in the Arizona Department of Corrections (prison).

Published on:

Under current Arizona law, drivers with a blood-alcohol content above 0.08% can be arrested for a DUI violation. Drivers with a BAC less than 0.08% can be charged with impairment, and in Arizona, we have a 'zero tolerance' law for anyone under the age of 21. Underage drivers can be charged with a drinking violation if any trace of alcohol is found in their system. The BAC limit for commercial drivers is 0.04%. The National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) believes that it would benefit the public if states lowered the drinking threshold to 0.05% BAC. According to their studies, the NTSB believes that a lower threshold could save as many as 1,000 lives per year.

Some critics say that a 0.05% limit would mean that individuals would be at risk for a DUI arrest after only one glass of wine at dinner. After two glasses, the average male would be almost certain to receive a DUI charge if arrested while behind the wheel. Critics also say that the limit would unneccesarily criminalize social drinking and the American Beverage Association says that it may discourage individuals from ordering alcohol at restaurants and bars over the weekend.

Still, the NTSB argues that an average of 10,000 people die in alcohol-related crashes every year. The NTSB is petitioning the federal government to consider lowering the drinking limit in order to encourage less alcohol-consumption and keep intoxicated drivers off the street. If the BAC limit is lowered, it will undoubtedly lead to more arrests. If DUI laws are changed in the State of Arizona, individuals will need to understand how these changes will impact them and make appropriate adjustments in order to avoid DUI charges. If you need a lawyer for a DUI case in Mesa, Arizona, then you need to call The Law Offices of Trent R. Buckallew today for more information. Call (480) 630-2480 today for assistance in your case.

Contact Information